Ditty-A-Day #013: B-52 Planes Over A Clock Shop.

Let me tell you, Spectrasonics’ Omnisphere is worth every freakin’ penny they ask for. The best synth you can buy. Virtual or Hardware. Hands down. Period.

I was tabbing through a handful of new sounds this evening. I’m not sure if this recording came from the free patches I got from KVRaudio.com’s Bank Download page, or the sound bank I purchased from waveformless.blogspot.com for $9.99 (at 7.8 cents per sound, it’s worth it).

Tonight, I limited myself to these handful of new sounds (tabbed through about 150). I had my recorder going while I tried ’em out for about 30 minutes; edited out the good pieces and parts; and layered a few of them. As a result, I ended up with 3 or 4 good ditties to post. This is the first one of the bunch. This is just one patch here titled something like “B52s Over A Clock Shop.” Great name for a sound! Lives up to it’s name, too. In this case is not layered with anything else.

I have a thing for bells, or at least the sound of bells, especially if they are arpeggiated. They can used to in either a positive happy manner (pleasing, like wind chimes) or … not necessarily pleasing, to build suspense. To me this ditty lives somewhere between those two realms. It’s in a major key, and could probably be used a bed for some sort of vocal ballad-y thing over the top of it, like the song “MLK” by U2.

For me, I think this particular ditty came from somewhere between the sound of the wind chimes blowing in the winter wind right outside my back door, and this creepy video named “Pencil Face.”

This may not play well on small speakers, best to use headphones. Or a subwoofer. Right, Jeremy?

iPad/iPhone/iPad Touch users:
CLICK HERE to hear this track.

1 comment
  1. jerde said:

    It’s funny, but the first time I got around to listening this I didn’t have the subwoofer available because I was in the dining room… so I am coming back to check it out now. Pretty deep!

Leave a Reply

