Ditty-A-Day #008: An Inevitable Cover: Exhibit A.

I present to the court Exhibit A: a cover song.

The is the first of most likely many covers to show up here. I’ve been telling myself for years and years that I want to do a CD full of cover songs that I like. My excuse for not doing them was that I’m not a performer nor am I in a band (for a multitude of reasons I won’t go into here). For me it’s not a common occurrence to sit down and learn somebody else’s song to perform to strangers-at-large. What I’m trying to say is, I didn’t think it’s as easy for me to do this, as it is for an average ‘working’ musician.

Up to this point in my life I haven’t gotten much beyond making a list of potential candidates, choices of songs to do. So I decided this evening, why not jump in and start now? Of course I’d love to cover “A Day In The Life” by the Beatles, but that’s not gonna happen this year, ha ha.

Unlike the other several hundred project files that pepper my hard drives, many of which I have no freakin’ idea what they contain, or even how to figure out what I was trying to do… This is one kind of project I can come back to and figure out where I left off without too much hassle. Nothing tricky here other than I’m using Logic Pro 9 to track everything, since it’s my primary DAW. The drum programming came courtesy of the internets, so that time-consuming task was done for me (gotta love available fan-based MIDI files), and is sounded by NI Battery (yet another NI app I barely use). So far I’ve discovered that recording covers isn’t as hard as I built myself up to believing it was. Oh yeah, and also discovered every guitar I own needs new strings put on it.

This is just the opening few bars of “Love Less” by New Order, unmastered. I’m dating myself here just a bit? Either that or it’s obscure enough to the point where once I’m finished most folks won’t know if I did well or not. I’m not sure if I can post full-length covers of somebody else work without crossing into copyright or royalty issues, so I won’t be posting them beyond snippets like this.

iPad/iPhone/iPad Touch users:
CLICK HERE to hear this track.

3 comments
  1. Thomas said:

    It’s funny to hear this without the “cough cough” in the beginning – great job Rob! Now I’m going to be asking you to play New Order when I come visit… I had to go put on “Technique” after hearing this, but then I don’t really need any excuse to listen to New Order 🙂

  2. jerde said:

    Ha! I think covers are easier because you have less of a personal attachment to them, and they are fun to rip apart and reconstruct. I’ve got a number in the works as well, and it is a good way to practice your craft and try new things.

  3. Y’know whats funny Thomas, is that I was gonna record myself coughing since that element it’s soooo a part of the song. I decided to hunt down the original Emulator samples and use those instead (haven’t found them yet). Maybe it’s the purist in me. If you dunno what I’m talking about, the same samples are used in the flick Ferris Bueller’s Day Off… Ferris ‘plays’ the coughing on an Emulator 1 or 2 sampler. And then you think… the dude has an 8-10 thousand dollar sampler, but no car… Anyway, yeah, funny thing about those coughs.

Leave a Reply

